Prev: Jupiter
Next: Sky of Fire
From: Sylvia Else on
On 11/02/2010 1:16 PM, ^Tems^ wrote:
> Sylvia Else wrote:
>> On 11/02/2010 12:18 PM, ^Tems^ wrote:
>>> Sylvia,
>>>
>>> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to
>>> take photos of the kids and I came across this one
>>>
>>> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html
>>>
>>> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers
>>> and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is
>>> Newcastle's best studio.
>>>
>>> Would he have to prove he is #1? If he can't prove it wouldn't it be
>>> false advertising?
>>
>> It's called advertising puffery. It's not unlawful because it doesn't
>> mislead, as no reasonable person would take it as a statement of fact.
>>
>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puffery
>>
>>> He says he is award winning but from what I have learnt in photography
>>> circles photography awards are like the awards you see on wine bottles
>>> not worth the label they are printed on.
>>
>> Still, it's an award. That's all that's required for his claim to be
>> true.
>>
>>>
>>> Would you use him because he claims he is the best or would you contact
>>> him and ask him why he feels he is the best.
>>>
>>> Also, how can a company that is not located in Newcastle be Newcastle's
>>> best?
>>
>> He's presumably located some distance from the suburb of Newcastle, but
>> Newcastle is also in practice the name of the region containing the
>> suburb, just as I live in Sydney, even though my residence is actually
>> in the suburb of Forestville.
>>
>> Near Drummoyne, there's a fish and chips shop that claims to sell the
>> best fish and chips in the Universe. While I don't dispute their claim,
>> I have long wondered how they found out.
>>
>> Sylvia.
>
> There's a small shop in Wallabadah that claims to have the best coffee
> outside Italy.
>
> Even though it is Nescafe Blend 43 in a styrofoam cup

Are they claiming that what they supply is the best coffee, or merely
that they have the best coffee?

Sylvia.
From: HeadRush on

"^Tems^" <stevebrooks13(a)live.com> wrote in message
news:7th482Fd0qU1(a)mid.individual.net...
> Sylvia,
>
> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to take
> photos of the kids and I came across this one
>
> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html
>
> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers and
> has it as the page title on the about us page the title is Newcastle's
> best studio.

Can't be that good. This picture of a severed head is overexposed.
http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/images/File0117aaqq.jpg?637

HR


From: DavidW on
^Tems^ wrote:
> Sylvia,
>
> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to
> take photos of the kids and I came across this one
>
> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html
>
> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers
> and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is
> Newcastle's best studio.

'Best' is a matter of opinion. He is entitled to express his opinion that his is
the best.

> Would he have to prove he is #1?

Does he say in what way he is #1? If not, it can be what he likes. If readers
jump to conclusions as to the meaning, that's not his problem.

David (aka Sylvia)


From: Atheist Chaplain on
"DavidW" <no(a)email.provided> wrote in message
news:cbKcn.20786$3n2.18016(a)newsfe01.iad...
> ^Tems^ wrote:
>> Sylvia,
>>
>> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to
>> take photos of the kids and I came across this one
>>
>> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html
>>
>> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers
>> and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is
>> Newcastle's best studio.
>
> 'Best' is a matter of opinion. He is entitled to express his opinion that
> his is the best.
>
>> Would he have to prove he is #1?
>
> Does he say in what way he is #1? If not, it can be what he likes. If
> readers jump to conclusions as to the meaning, that's not his problem.
>
> David (aka Sylvia)
>
>

yes, the site says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographer" in the page title and the
top banner says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographers"

--
[This comment is no longer available due to a copyright claim by Church of
Scientology International]
"I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your
Christ." Gandhi

From: Coach on
On Feb 11, 1:49 pm, "Atheist Chaplain" <abu...(a)cia.gov> wrote:
> "DavidW" <n...(a)email.provided> wrote in message
>
> news:cbKcn.20786$3n2.18016(a)newsfe01.iad...
>
>
>
> > ^Tems^ wrote:
> >> Sylvia,
>
> >> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to
> >> take photos of the kids and I came across this one
>
> >>http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html
>
> >> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers
> >> and has it as the page title  on the about us page the title is
> >> Newcastle's best studio.
>
> > 'Best' is a matter of opinion. He is entitled to express his opinion that
> > his is the best.
>
> >> Would he have to prove he is #1?
>
> > Does he say in what way he is #1? If not, it can be what he likes. If
> > readers jump to conclusions as to the meaning, that's not his problem.
>
> > David (aka Sylvia)
>
> yes, the site says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographer" in the page title and the
> top banner says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographers"
>
> --
> [This comment is no longer available due to a copyright claim by Church of
> Scientology International]
> "I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your
> Christ." Gandhi

I wasn't aware that Sylvia posted under so many different names.
Either that, or this newsgroup is filled with uneducated morons who
like to go around and not only read other peoples mail, but also reply
to it as well.
First  |  Prev  |  Next  |  Last
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Prev: Jupiter
Next: Sky of Fire