|
Prev: Jupiter
Next: Sky of Fire
From: DavidW on 10 Feb 2010 23:35 Coach wrote: > On Feb 11, 1:49 pm, "Atheist Chaplain" <abu...(a)cia.gov> wrote: >> "DavidW" <n...(a)email.provided> wrote in message >> >> news:cbKcn.20786$3n2.18016(a)newsfe01.iad... >> >> >> >>> ^Tems^ wrote: >>>> Sylvia, >> >>>> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle >>>> to take photos of the kids and I came across this one >> >>>> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html >> >>>> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 >>>> photographers and has it as the page title on the about us page >>>> the title is Newcastle's best studio. >> >>> 'Best' is a matter of opinion. He is entitled to express his >>> opinion that his is the best. >> >>>> Would he have to prove he is #1? >> >>> Does he say in what way he is #1? If not, it can be what he likes. >>> If readers jump to conclusions as to the meaning, that's not his >>> problem. >> >>> David (aka Sylvia) >> >> yes, the site says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographer" in the page title >> and the top banner says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographers" >> >> -- >> [This comment is no longer available due to a copyright claim by >> Church of Scientology International] >> "I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. They are so >> unlike your Christ." Gandhi > > I wasn't aware that Sylvia posted under so many different names. > Either that, or this newsgroup is filled with uneducated morons who > like to go around and not only read other peoples mail, but also reply > to it as well. To be fair, this poster was _responding_ to Sylvia, not answering the OP's question to Sylvia.
From: DavidW on 10 Feb 2010 23:36 Atheist Chaplain wrote: > "DavidW" <no(a)email.provided> wrote in message > news:cbKcn.20786$3n2.18016(a)newsfe01.iad... >> ^Tems^ wrote: >>> Sylvia, >>> >>> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to >>> take photos of the kids and I came across this one >>> >>> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html >>> >>> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 >>> photographers and has it as the page title on the about us page >>> the title is Newcastle's best studio. >> >> 'Best' is a matter of opinion. He is entitled to express his opinion >> that his is the best. >> >>> Would he have to prove he is #1? >> >> Does he say in what way he is #1? If not, it can be what he likes. If >> readers jump to conclusions as to the meaning, that's not his >> problem. > > yes, the site says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographer" in the page title > and the top banner says "Newcastle's No.1 Photographers" How is that "yes"? He just says he's No. 1. He doesn't say what he means by No. 1.
From: idgat on 11 Feb 2010 01:20 On Thu, 11 Feb 2010 13:16:06 +1100, ^Tems^ <stevebrooks13(a)live.com> wrote: >Sylvia Else wrote: >> On 11/02/2010 12:18 PM, ^Tems^ wrote: >>> Sylvia, >>> >>> This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to >>> take photos of the kids and I came across this one >>> >>> http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html >>> >>> On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers >>> and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is >>> Newcastle's best studio. >>> >>> Would he have to prove he is #1? If he can't prove it wouldn't it be >>> false advertising? >> >> It's called advertising puffery. It's not unlawful because it doesn't >> mislead, as no reasonable person would take it as a statement of fact. >> >> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puffery >> >>> He says he is award winning but from what I have learnt in photography >>> circles photography awards are like the awards you see on wine bottles >>> not worth the label they are printed on. >> >> Still, it's an award. That's all that's required for his claim to be true. >> >>> >>> Would you use him because he claims he is the best or would you contact >>> him and ask him why he feels he is the best. >>> >>> Also, how can a company that is not located in Newcastle be Newcastle's >>> best? >> >> He's presumably located some distance from the suburb of Newcastle, but >> Newcastle is also in practice the name of the region containing the >> suburb, just as I live in Sydney, even though my residence is actually >> in the suburb of Forestville. >> >> Near Drummoyne, there's a fish and chips shop that claims to sell the >> best fish and chips in the Universe. While I don't dispute their claim, >> I have long wondered how they found out. >> >> Sylvia. > >There's a small shop in Wallabadah that claims to have the best coffee >outside Italy. > >Even though it is Nescafe Blend 43 in a styrofoam cup Wallabadah has a shop??? I thought they were just a suburb of Quirindi? -- idgat Compuglobalhypermeganet Inc.
From: idgat on 11 Feb 2010 01:22 On Thu, 11 Feb 2010 12:18:52 +1100, ^Tems^ <stevebrooks13(a)live.com> wrote: >Sylvia, > >This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to >take photos of the kids and I came across this one > >http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html > >On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers >and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is >Newcastle's best studio. > >Would he have to prove he is #1? If he can't prove it wouldn't it be >false advertising? >He says he is award winning but from what I have learnt in photography >circles photography awards are like the awards you see on wine bottles >not worth the label they are printed on. > >Would you use him because he claims he is the best or would you contact >him and ask him why he feels he is the best. > >Also, how can a company that is not located in Newcastle be Newcastle's >best? > I just hope his photography is better than his web page design! Although, given the examples on the web site, I doubt it ..... -- idgat Compuglobalhypermeganet Inc.
From: Coach on 11 Feb 2010 01:31
On Feb 11, 4:22 pm, idgat <a...(a)anon.com> wrote: > On Thu, 11 Feb 2010 12:18:52 +1100, ^Tems^ <stevebrook...(a)live.com> > wrote: > > > > >Sylvia, > > >This morning I was looking around for a photo studio in Newcastle to > >take photos of the kids and I came across this one > > >http://www.imaginephoto.com.au/index.html > > >On that page he advertises his company is Newcastle's #1 photographers > >and has it as the page title on the about us page the title is > >Newcastle's best studio. > > >Would he have to prove he is #1? If he can't prove it wouldn't it be > >false advertising? > >He says he is award winning but from what I have learnt in photography > >circles photography awards are like the awards you see on wine bottles > >not worth the label they are printed on. > > >Would you use him because he claims he is the best or would you contact > >him and ask him why he feels he is the best. > > >Also, how can a company that is not located in Newcastle be Newcastle's > >best? > > I just hope his photography is better than his web page design! > > Although, given the examples on the web site, I doubt it ..... If you want an example of a bad website, you need to look no further than DAvo the ex-wedding photographer from Maryborough. |